2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale
2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale_top

Description

Product Description

Wonderful." Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

Celebrating the 20th anniversary of storytelling phenomenon The Moth, 45 unforgettable true stories about risk, courage, and facing the unknown, drawn from the best ever told on their stages


Carefully selected by the creative minds at The Moth, and adapted to the page to preserve the raw energy of live storytelling, All These Wonders features voices both familiar and new. Alongside Meg Wolitzer, John Turturro, Tig Notaro, and Hasan Minhaj, readers will encounter: an astronomer gazing at the surface of Pluto for the first time, an Afghan refugee learning how much her father sacrificed to save their family, a hip-hop star coming to terms with being a “one-hit wonder,” a young female spy risking everything as part of Churchill’s “secret army” during World War II, and more.

High-school student and neuroscientist alike, the storytellers share their ventures into uncharted territory—and how their lives were changed indelibly by what they discovered there. With passion, and humor, they encourage us all to be more open, vulnerable, and alive.

Review

NATIONAL BESTSELLER

Some [stories] are heartbreakingly sad; some laugh-out-loud funny; some momentous and tragic; almost all of them resonant or surprising. They are stories that attest to the startling varieties and travails of human experience, and the shared threads of love, loss, fear and kindness that connect us."
Michiko Kakutani, New York Times

" All These Wonders is replete with wondrous true stories of loves, losses, rerouted dreams, and existential crises of nearly every unsugarcoated flavor."
Maria Popova, Brain Pickings

“[The Moth] has this indescribable energy that comes with people allowing themselves to be honest without fear. Translated to the page, this book…really becomes an incredible syllabus of vulnerability, one that invites you to cherry pick and re-read stories as you need them.”
Goop (16 Great Reads for the Summer)

All These Wonders is a compelling read, by turns uplifting, heartbreaking, and ultimately redemptive. If there is a real hero of the book, it is surely the human spirit, which, time and again, transcends whatever life throws at it.”
Daily Mail

"The stories are gripping, insightful, addictive.... [It''s] hard not to laugh, cry, or be a little moved by each one."
Toronto Star

“All These Wonders is divided into seven expertly curated chapters. The effect is an anthology of seven Mainstage shows, averaging six stories per show. Each juxtaposes sensational stories by famous names...with those by relatively unknown storytellers, whose narratives, quite often, deliver the biggest emotional punches.”
Megan Labrise, Kirkus Reviews

All These Wonders is a journey through the mysteries of the unexpected.... Every tale is its own surprising glimpse into the human story.”
Mary Elizabeth Williams, Salon

"The Moth''s 20-year retrospective contains all the hope, sadness, triumphs, and tribulations that have defined the pioneering live reading series since its modest debut in 1997.... Overall, the two decades of the Moth remain as entertaining and powerful off-stage as they were onstage."  
—Kirkus Reviews

"[The stories] are all arresting tales."
—Buffalo News (Editor''s Choice)

"[The Moth is] New York''s hottest and hippest literary ticket." 
—Wall Street Journal

About the Author

THE MOTH is an acclaimed not-for-profit organization dedicated to the art and craft of storytelling. Inspired by friends telling stories on a small-town Georgia porch, The Moth garnered a cult following in New York City, and then rose to international acclaim with the wildly popular podcast and Peabody Award–winning weekly public radio show The Moth Radio Hour (produced by Jay Allison and presented by PRX.) The Moth is a celebration of both the raconteur, who breathes fire into true tales of ordinary life, and the storytelling novice, who has lived through something extraordinary and yearns to share it. At the center of each performance is the story, and The Moth''s directors work with each storyteller to find, shape, and present it. Since its launch in 1997, The Moth has presented tens of thousands of stories, told live and without notes, to standing-room-only crowds worldwide. The Moth received a 2012 MacArthur Award for Creative and Effective Institutions, and  The Moth: 50 True Stories (Hachette) was an international best seller.  themoth.org

Excerpt. © Reprinted by permission. All rights reserved.

MY GRANDFATHER’S SHOES
Christian Garland
 
I’m gonna let y’all know now, I’m a preacher’s kid. I grew up in the church. I swear I have only missed, like, two Sundays out of my whole sixteen years of life.

My grandfather, he was a minister. And he was my best friend. He was the person I could talk to about anything and everything.

I’m sixteen now, but when I was ten, I wanted to be the kid who had anything anybody else had. I was the friend that, like, if you got the new video game—I had that video game but also another one . . . that was just about to come out . . . that you ain’t know about.

So one day my friend came outside. He had these ugly, ugly sneakers on.

I was like, “Yo, bro, I got those, man! That ain’t nothing . . . I already got those.”

He was like, “A’ight . . . prove it!”

I didn’t have them.

So my grandfather, being a minister, he gets the money out of the collection plate. And I knew where he put the money.

So I went upstairs, and I took the money. I did. It was like two hundred dollars. And I went on Third Avenue in the Bronx, and I bought the sneakers, and I went home. 

I walk in, and my grandfather, he’s going off. He found out the money was missing.

He was screaming at my uncle, “Why would you steal my money?!”

My uncle’s like, “I didn’t touch your money. I don’t know what you’re talking about.”

I should tell y’all that all the way home walking, I was talking junk.

I’m with my cousin, and I’m like, “Yeah, when my grandpa asks me where I got the sneakers from . . . I’m gonna lie. I’m gonna say I got ’em from you.”

And he’s like, “Ain’t gonna work.”

So I walk in, and my grandpa’s going off . . . and I froze. I was like, Oh . . . he mad.

And he said, “Christian! Come here!”

I was like, “Huh?”

He said, “Where’d you get those sneakers?”

And I was like, “Funny story . . . uh . . . I went in your briefcase and got the money . . . yeah . . .”

He said, “How much money did you take?”

I said, “About two hundred dollars.”

“WHAT?!”

“About two hundred dollars.”

“Boy, are you crazy?! Boy!”

And then he said some very hard words. He said, “I will never be able to trust you again, but one day you are going to repay me for the money you took. I don’t know how, I don’t know when. But you are going to repay me.”

I cried. It was terrible.

Fast-forward a couple of years. I’m a drummer. I played the drums on the radio for Al Sharpton. And he paid me good. And have you ever had that thing where you start thinking about something and your mind goes [ claps loudly]. 

That’s when I was like, I remember Grandpa said I’m gonna repay him.

So I didn’t get McDonald’s for two weeks in a row. And with that, plus my money from drumming, I got the money to pay him back. I put it in an envelope, and I took my grandpa out to dinner at his favorite place: Crown Donut on 161st Street.

At first he was skeptical that I was taking him out.

He said, “You got somebody pregnant?”

I was only thirteen, I don’t know what he was talking about. I was like, “No, of course not! Don’t be absurd.

So we got our food, and I had on a coat—it was cold; it was early November. And so I took the money out of my side pocket and put it on the table.

I was like, “It’s all there.”

And he looked, and he said, “What’s this?”

I said, “You said you didn’t know how, but I was gonna repay you. And I just repaid you.”

And we started crying and hugging.

He said, “Aw, I love you.”

“I love you, too, Grandpa.”

And I’m just glad that I got the chance to fulfill what my grandfather said, and pay him back and earn his trust back, because he said, “You know what? You surprised me. I’m proud of you. I trust you again.”

And that was the last thing he ever told me, because two weeks after that he died.

I found out he didn’t get to spend the money.

And I was mad at my grandma, because I knew she had the money. I didn’t know what she did with it.

And so a couple of days go by; we made funeral arrangements, I still didn’t know where the money went. 

But I went to go view the body, and my grandma, she stopped me, she said, “Chris?”

I said, “Yes, ma’am.”

She said, “You see that suit and them shoes he’s got on?”

I said, “Yes, ma’am.”

She said, “Your money paid for that.”

And the expression on my face was like, What?!

I was so proud that, number one: I got my trust back from my grandpa, and number two, he was stuntin’ in the suit and shoes I bought him.

Product information

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Videos

Help others learn more about this product by uploading a video!
Upload video
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who bought this item also bought

Related posts

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
989 global ratings

Reviews with images

Top reviews from the United States

Dr. Thop
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
I loved this collection of stories
Reviewed in the United States on January 30, 2018
I loved this collection of stories. and this phrase just made the whole book worth it: "Just walk fearlessly into the house of mourning, for grief is just love squaring up to its oldest enemy. And after all these mortal human years, love is up to the... See more
I loved this collection of stories. and this phrase just made the whole book worth it:

"Just walk fearlessly into the house of mourning, for grief is just love squaring up to its oldest enemy. And after all these mortal human years, love is up to the challenge"

Highly recommended.
73 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
AButterfly
2.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Saddened by edited version of great stories
Reviewed in the United States on July 1, 2020
My friend lent me her copy of this book. After a few stories I was hooked and ordered one of my own. These stories were uplifting, sad, funny, and inspiring! When my copy arrived I’d already read over half of my friend’s copy. I noticed when I went to the page... See more
My friend lent me her copy of this book. After a few stories I was hooked and ordered one of my own. These stories were uplifting, sad, funny, and inspiring!

When my copy arrived I’d already read over half of my friend’s copy. I noticed when I went to the page that I left off on in my friend’s copy, it was a different page number in my new copy. Strange!

There’s a story missing in this copy. The Louis CK story. Very disappointing. As a reader I don’t need the original edition to have stirred edited out. I can choose to skip an author if I don’t like them. I feel like I’ve been robbed by this edited copy and am on a hunt for a FIRST edition.
17 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Sandra
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Story telling at its best
Reviewed in the United States on April 15, 2017
If you love story telling, you''ll love this book. It''s filled with wonderful stories that will not just entertain you but transport you to different parts of the world, allow you to experience different lives, but best of all, celebrate humanity. It''s a wonderful book... See more
If you love story telling, you''ll love this book. It''s filled with wonderful stories that will not just entertain you but transport you to different parts of the world, allow you to experience different lives, but best of all, celebrate humanity. It''s a wonderful book that just makes you feel good; it''s hard to put down.

And if you love Moth Radio, then of course you''ll love this great collection of those stories.
34 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Whitney
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Well done Catherine Burns and The Moth!
Reviewed in the United States on April 7, 2017
Let me begin this review with my impression of the exterior design of this book. I typically don''t purchase hard back books for the sake of comfortability. I like the feel of a paperback and often travel with books so the lighter the weight the better. This book, however,... See more
Let me begin this review with my impression of the exterior design of this book. I typically don''t purchase hard back books for the sake of comfortability. I like the feel of a paperback and often travel with books so the lighter the weight the better. This book, however, is amazingly comfortable to hold and the gold embossed cover design is so incredibly gorgeous a paperback cover simply would not do it justice.

As an avid Moth listener and book collector, I was thrilled to add this to my collection and ordered two copies pre-sale. When it arrived I immediately began reading and was thoroughly impressed with the sequence of the stories and how lightly the original content was edited. I have heard a lot of these stories on the podcast and reading them was just as good, if not better, as hearing them live.

I''ve given a copy of this book to a dear friend as a gift and am considering buying several more copies to distribute as everyone should have this book in their life.
50 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Marion
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Laugh. Cry. Love.
Reviewed in the United States on June 23, 2017
Absolutely the most beautiful thing I have read. GREAT when you have ADD when it comes to reading books. Short stories are my favorite and I know that now thanks to this book. I also now follow and listen to the podcast every week. I''m so glad I found this on Amazon while... See more
Absolutely the most beautiful thing I have read. GREAT when you have ADD when it comes to reading books. Short stories are my favorite and I know that now thanks to this book. I also now follow and listen to the podcast every week. I''m so glad I found this on Amazon while looking for books that would help me with my anxieties and fear of death. I am extremely appreciative of The Moth and all that it has to offer. Hearing the stories that each of these vulnerable, beautiful souls have to say is insightful and absolutely extraordinary. The story that really touched me was from the founder George, second favorite was the man who forgave Ivan. loved it, Loved It, LOVED IT!!!
13 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Your Mom
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Love It
Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2018
I am a connoisseur of other people''s stories, so The Moth is 100% love. I never fail to laugh and usually more so cry, but I enjoy rating things on how much they make me cry. I give it 5 Tears. The Moth (whether on PRX, NPR, the podcast, the books, or in person) never fails... See more
I am a connoisseur of other people''s stories, so The Moth is 100% love. I never fail to laugh and usually more so cry, but I enjoy rating things on how much they make me cry. I give it 5 Tears. The Moth (whether on PRX, NPR, the podcast, the books, or in person) never fails to hit me in all the feels. I love that it is a thing that exists and has for 20 years now.
14 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Amanda Adams
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
True Story
Reviewed in the United States on April 12, 2017
Sitting on a porch drinking bourbon listening to people tell stories (or reading the storytellers'' stories). Doesn''t get any better!
25 people found this helpful
Helpful
Report
Michelle M
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
A wonderful book of stories of significant events in people''s lives. It''s worth your time
Reviewed in the United States on August 30, 2020
This is a fantastic book of life stories from people of different ages, from varied countries and relating incidents that happened in a variety of time periods. I loved the diversity of the stories and the different perspectives that are presented. Some of them touched me... See more
This is a fantastic book of life stories from people of different ages, from varied countries and relating incidents that happened in a variety of time periods. I loved the diversity of the stories and the different perspectives that are presented. Some of them touched me and others showed me incidents and events from another person''s point of view that I may not have considered. This book is really good and I can hardly wait to read the other compilations that are available.
Helpful
Report

Top reviews from other countries

DBrook
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
The Moth Presents All These Wonders: True Stories About Facing the Unknown
Reviewed in Canada on March 21, 2019
The second book by The Moth, with more incredible true stories. If you don''t know about The Moth you can hear the stories told live on stage, on the web site.(you must look it up) I do prefer the first book a bit more but these are still amazing and sometimes funny and...See more
The second book by The Moth, with more incredible true stories. If you don''t know about The Moth you can hear the stories told live on stage, on the web site.(you must look it up) I do prefer the first book a bit more but these are still amazing and sometimes funny and sometimes heartbreaking to read. The book arrived quickly. It is a hard cover and looks nice on the bookshelf.
The second book by The Moth, with more incredible true stories. If you don''t know about The Moth you can hear the stories told live on stage, on the web site.(you must look it up) I do prefer the first book a bit more but these are still amazing and sometimes funny and sometimes heartbreaking to read. The book arrived quickly. It is a hard cover and looks nice on the bookshelf.
Report
TC
4.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Great addition to your short stories collection
Reviewed in Canada on April 2, 2019
Stories are well written by a variety of authors. I like the fact that the short stories have themes and are concise. Some will make you laugh out loud , some will make you weep. I''ll return to this book again and again.
Stories are well written by a variety of authors. I like the fact that the short stories have themes and are concise. Some will make you laugh out loud , some will make you weep. I''ll return to this book again and again.
Report
Antonio
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Great collection of stories
Reviewed in Canada on February 8, 2018
I really enjoyed reading this as the stories were as varied as the people telling them. If you enjoy hearing people tell a story of a personal account, then you will enjoy this read.
I really enjoyed reading this as the stories were as varied as the people telling them. If you enjoy hearing people tell a story of a personal account, then you will enjoy this read.
One person found this helpful
Report
Translate all reviews to English
Sonja Moll
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Leitura perfeita!
Reviewed in Brazil on January 3, 2019
Livro maravilhoso, perfeita leitura para as férias por ser uma coleção de relatos autobiográficos. Todas as contribuições são muito bem escolhidas e potentes, já ri e já chorei. Muito lindo este livro mesmo!
Livro maravilhoso, perfeita leitura para as férias por ser uma coleção de relatos autobiográficos. Todas as contribuições são muito bem escolhidas e potentes, já ri e já chorei. Muito lindo este livro mesmo!
3 people found this helpful
Report
Translate review to English
Tim P.
5.0 out of 5 starsVerified Purchase
Ein wunderschönes Buch
Reviewed in Germany on June 11, 2020
Toll zu lesen, schöne Geschichten. Ich kann das Buch zu 100% weiterempfehlen!
Toll zu lesen, schöne Geschichten. Ich kann das Buch zu 100% weiterempfehlen!
One person found this helpful
Report
Translate review to English
See all reviews
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Pages with related products.

  • adventure stories
  • all books
  • travel literature
  • travel stories
  • college gifts for her
  • graduation gift for him




The Moth Presents Occasional Magic
A new collection of unforgettable true stories about finding the strength to face the impossible, drawn from the very best ever told on its stages

Product information

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale

2021 popular The Moth Presents high quality All These Wonders: True Stories popular About Facing the Unknown outlet sale